跳至内容
This is paradise : stories 線上預覽
關閉線上預覽
正在檢查...

This is paradise : stories

作者: Kristiana Kahakauwila
出版商: London ; New York : Hogarth, [2013]
版本/格式:   打印圖書 : 小說 : 英語 : First edition所有版本和格式的總覽
提要:
"A visceral, poignant, and elegantly gritty work of debut fiction set in Hawaii, in the vein of Junot Diaz's Drown and Danielle Evans's Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self This is the real Hawai'i: life is not the paradisical adventure that honeymooners or movie-goers see. Danger lurks on beautiful beaches, violence bubbles under the smooth surf, and characters come face to face with the inevitability of change  再讀一些...
評定級別:

(尚未評分) 0 附有評論 - 成爲第一個。

主題
更多類似這樣的

在圖書館查詢

&AllPage.SpinnerRetrieving; 正在查詢有此資料的圖書館...

詳細書目

類型/形式: Short stories
Fiction
資料類型: 小說
文件類型 圖書
所有的作者/貢獻者: Kristiana Kahakauwila
ISBN: 9780770436254 0770436250
OCLC系統控制編碼: 818293022
描述: 235 pages ; 21 cm
内容: This is paradise --
Wanle --
The road to Hana --
Thirty-nine rules for making a Hawaiian funeral into a drinking game --
The old Paniolo way --
Portrait of a Good Father.
責任: Kristiana Kahakauwila.

摘要:

"A visceral, poignant, and elegantly gritty work of debut fiction set in Hawaii, in the vein of Junot Diaz's Drown and Danielle Evans's Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self This is the real Hawai'i: life is not the paradisical adventure that honeymooners or movie-goers see. Danger lurks on beautiful beaches, violence bubbles under the smooth surf, and characters come face to face with the inevitability of change and the need to define who they are against the forces of tradition and expectation. In these stories, a young woman decides to take revenge on the man who had her father murdered - only to find that her father wasn't who she thought he was. Three different groups of Hawaiian women observe and comment on the progress of an American tourist through one day and one night in Honolulu. And a young couple have an encounter with a stray dog that shakes their relationship to the core. Intimately tied to the Hawaiian Islands, This is Paradise explores the relationships among native Hawaiians, local citizens, and emigrants from (and to) the contiguous forty-eight states. There is tension between locals and tourists, between locals and the military men that populate their communities, between local Hawaiian girls who never leave, and those who do so for higher education and then return. Kahakauwila is a careful observer of her protagonists' actions - and, sometimes, their inaction. Her portrayal of people whose lives have lost their centre of gravity is acute, often heartbreaking, and suffused with a deeply felt empathy. With a contemporary edginess, a mature style, and a sense of history reverberating into the present, This is Paradise is an incredible debut"--

評論

讀者提供的評論
正在擷取GoodReads評論...
正在擷取DOGObooks的評論

標籤

成爲第一個
確認申請

你可能已經申請過這份資料。若還是想申請,請選確認。

連結資料


\n\n

Primary Entity<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/oclc\/818293022<\/a>> # This is paradise : stories<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Book<\/a>, schema:CreativeWork<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:oclcnum<\/a> \"818293022<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nlibrary:placeOfPublication<\/a> <http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/enk<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/id.worldcat.org\/fast\/1208724<\/a>> ; # Hawaii.<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Topic\/amerikanisches_englisch<\/a>> ; # Amerikanisches Englisch<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Topic\/kurzgeschichte<\/a>> ; # Kurzgeschichte<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Topic\/fiction_cultural_heritage<\/a>> ; # FICTION--Cultural Heritage<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Place\/hawaii<\/a>> ; # Hawaii<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Topic\/manners_and_customs<\/a>> ; # Manners and customs<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Topic\/fiction_short_stories_single_author<\/a>> ; # FICTION--Short Stories (single author)<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/813.6\/e23\/<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Event\/2000_2099<\/a>> ; # 2000 - 2099<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:about<\/a> <http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Topic\/fiction_literary<\/a>> ; # FICTION--Literary<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:bookEdition<\/a> \"First edition.<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:bookFormat<\/a> bgn:PrintBook<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:creator<\/a> <http:\/\/viaf.org\/viaf\/290968758<\/a>> ; # Kristiana Kahakauwila<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:datePublished<\/a> \"2013<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:description<\/a> \"This is paradise -- Wanle -- The road to Hana -- Thirty-nine rules for making a Hawaiian funeral into a drinking game -- The old Paniolo way -- Portrait of a Good Father.<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:description<\/a> \"\"A visceral, poignant, and elegantly gritty work of debut fiction set in Hawaii, in the vein of Junot Diaz\'s Drown and Danielle Evans\'s Before You Suffocate Your Own Fool Self This is the real Hawai\'i: life is not the paradisical adventure that honeymooners or movie-goers see. Danger lurks on beautiful beaches, violence bubbles under the smooth surf, and characters come face to face with the inevitability of change and the need to define who they are against the forces of tradition and expectation. In these stories, a young woman decides to take revenge on the man who had her father murdered - only to find that her father wasn\'t who she thought he was. Three different groups of Hawaiian women observe and comment on the progress of an American tourist through one day and one night in Honolulu. And a young couple have an encounter with a stray dog that shakes their relationship to the core. Intimately tied to the Hawaiian Islands, This is Paradise explores the relationships among native Hawaiians, local citizens, and emigrants from (and to) the contiguous forty-eight states. There is tension between locals and tourists, between locals and the military men that populate their communities, between local Hawaiian girls who never leave, and those who do so for higher education and then return. Kahakauwila is a careful observer of her protagonists\' actions - and, sometimes, their inaction. Her portrayal of people whose lives have lost their centre of gravity is acute, often heartbreaking, and suffused with a deeply felt empathy. With a contemporary edginess, a mature style, and a sense of history reverberating into the present, This is Paradise is an incredible debut\"--<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:exampleOfWork<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/id\/1173801291<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Fiction<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:genre<\/a> \"Short stories<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:inLanguage<\/a> \"en<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"This is paradise : stories<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:productID<\/a> \"818293022<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:workExample<\/a> <http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9780770436254<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nwdrs:describedby<\/a> <http:\/\/www.worldcat.org\/title\/-\/oclc\/818293022<\/a>> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n\n

Related Entities<\/h3>\n
<http:\/\/dewey.info\/class\/813.6\/e23\/<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Event\/2000_2099<\/a>> # 2000 - 2099<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Event<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"2000 - 2099<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Place\/hawaii<\/a>> # Hawaii<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Hawaii<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Topic\/amerikanisches_englisch<\/a>> # Amerikanisches Englisch<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Amerikanisches Englisch<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Topic\/fiction_cultural_heritage<\/a>> # FICTION--Cultural Heritage<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"FICTION--Cultural Heritage<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Topic\/fiction_literary<\/a>> # FICTION--Literary<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"FICTION--Literary<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Topic\/fiction_short_stories_single_author<\/a>> # FICTION--Short Stories (single author)<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"FICTION--Short Stories (single author)<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Topic\/kurzgeschichte<\/a>> # Kurzgeschichte<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Kurzgeschichte<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/experiment.worldcat.org\/entity\/work\/data\/1173801291#Topic\/manners_and_customs<\/a>> # Manners and customs<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Intangible<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Manners and customs<\/span>\"@en<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/id.loc.gov\/vocabulary\/countries\/enk<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\ndcterms:identifier<\/a> \"enk<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/id.worldcat.org\/fast\/1208724<\/a>> # Hawaii.<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Place<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Hawaii.<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/viaf.org\/viaf\/290968758<\/a>> # Kristiana Kahakauwila<\/span>\n\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:Person<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:familyName<\/a> \"Kahakauwila<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:givenName<\/a> \"Kristiana<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:name<\/a> \"Kristiana Kahakauwila<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n
<http:\/\/worldcat.org\/isbn\/9780770436254<\/a>>\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0a \nschema:ProductModel<\/a> ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"0770436250<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\nschema:isbn<\/a> \"9780770436254<\/span>\" ;\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0\u00A0.\n\n\n<\/div>\n